Difference between England, Britain and the Uk? Is London in Britain or England?

Did you know?

United Kingdom: Its full name is United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

The United Kingdom is a fully independent sovereign state made up of
-Great Britain(England, Scotland and Wales) and
– Northern Ireland.

Great Britain is made up of three countries:
-England: people from here are referred to as English.
– Scotland: Scottish
-Wales : Welsh
While Northern Ireland is a country on its own. So in all, the UK consists of four individual countries: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Within the U.K., Parliament is sovereign, but each country has autonomy to some extent.
Though bound to the Crown and tied together in unity, the individual countries within the U.K. retain their own local identities and even their own regional languages. (Welsh, for example, is the official language in Wales even though the official language in the U.K., as a whole, is English.)

Now for the fun bit:
London is the capital, largest and most populous city of England and the United Kingdom.
– Everyone from England, Scotland and Wales are also British. So all English people are British but not all Britons are English. Same goes for the Scottish, and Welsh people.
-While people from Northern Ireland  are Irish (despite also being UK citizens).
People from the Republic of Ireland are just Irish and not british. And, none of these groups, except for people from England, should be referred to as English.

The word “British” is confusing in and of itself—it can refer to things that relate to the United Kingdom, Great Britain or the former British Empire. Though it used to be the world’s most powerful colonial force, the reach of that Empire has waned. However, the present-day U.K. does have a few remaining colonies worldwide, which are referred to as British Overseas Territories. These territories remain subject to British rule, though some are self-governing

Elizabeth II is a constitutional monarch: that is, she is Britain’s head of state, but her executive powers are limited by constitutional rules.
Any question, pls feel free to drop them in the comment section below?


Your opinion could be the ICE breaker, so please do leave a comment.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s